AltScene

Columbine Remembered

Columbine Remembered

Grumman Created Apr 19, 2024 18:25
23 Comments

Tomorrow, the April 20, marks the 25th anniversary of one of the darkest days in the life of America, the state of Colorado, the community of Littleton where I grew up, and me personally. Sadly, the deadly massacre of April 20, 1999, at Columbine High School has been eclipsed by many, many other tragic mass shootings over the years, and our society can’t seem to grapple with its values seriously enough to figure out how to make these things stop. No one should fear a violent death at school, at the movies, at church, at the grocery store, or any other public venue, but mass shootings have happened in all those places in this state alone.

I was a freshman at a high school nearby Columbine that year, but I knew people who went to CHS, one of whom begged for his life in the library where most of the killing happened. No one I personally knew died, but the shock of the events happening in our quiet suburb still deeply moves me even today. I can’t help wondering if these kinds of things will ever be a phenomenon of the unenlightened past or if we’re condemned to live with them forever because of our obsession with firearms, our glorification of violence, and our indifference to the problem of mental illness.

I just wanted to post this in remembrance. If you have any thoughts on the topic or memories of that day, feel free to share.

This topic has 26 comments

WalterLuigi

Apr 19, 2024 20:28

Jesus man. I didn't realize you grew up near there. I like to hope these will one day little more than a section in a history book. However, I sincerely doubt it. With the first recorded one happening in 1764, it seems that the intensity and frequency has done little more than escalate for the past 260 years.

Thrones

Apr 19, 2024 22:03